21 Januari 2019

Abdullah drops several ministers including Chua, Siti Zaharah

Abdullah drops several ministers including Chua, Siti Zaharah

PUTRAJAYA March 27 - Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi Saturday dropped several old faces including Datuk Chua Jui Meng and Datuk Dr Siti Zaharah Sulaiman who were Health Minister and National Unity and Social Development Minister respectively from his new Cabinet line-up.

Also dropped were Science, Technology and Environment Minister Datuk Seri Law Hieng Ding as well as Datuk Seri Abdul Hamid Zainal Abidin and Datuk Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor, who were both Ministers in the Prime Minister's Department.

Commenting on the matter, Abdullah said that he wanted to provide an opportunity for new faces to serve in the Cabinet.

"Those not picked and not included in the Cabinet, it is not because of anything to do with crime or relating to corruption ... nothing like that," he said in his news conference to announce the list of Cabinet ministers and members of his administration, which was telecast live over RTM and TV3.

In an immediate reaction to his exclusion from the new Cabinet, Tengku Adnan said that he accepted Abdullah's decision and pledged continuous support to the government.

Three ministers in the previous government chose not to contest in the March 21 General Election.

They were Tan Sri Khalil Yaakob who held the Information portfolio, Datuk Amar Leo Moggie (Energy, Communications and Multimedia) and Datuk Seri Mohamed Effendi Norwawi (Special Functions).

Tan Sri Musa Mohamad (Education) resigned effective last Monday.

Another, Tan Sri Kasitah Gaddam, resigned as Land and Cooperative Minister last month following graft charges brought against him.